Snow, Glass, Apples by Neil Gaiman – A Review

Snow Glass Apples Neil Gaiman

Snow, Glass, Apples by Neil Gaiman
Illustrated by Colleen Doran
Retellings | Fantasy
Published by Dark Horse
Released August 20th, 2019
Goodreads | Amazon
Rating: 5_Star_Rating_System_4_stars

Many readers of this blog will know that Neil Gaiman is one of my favorite authors. I love the whimsy and darkness that permeate his stories. I had never heard of this Snow White reimagining before it was re-published by Dark Horse back in August, but the cover art immediately caught my eye.

Neil_Gaiman_01

Snow, Glass, Apples is a reimagining of the Snow White fairy tale, where the step-mother isn’t the evil one, but the young girl, Snow White, is. I love that this is a horror-reimagining of the fairy tale, something I’ve never seen done before. The story was delightfully dark and twisted.

As wonderful as Neil Gaiman’s writing for this was, however, the art by Colleen Doran stole the spotlight. It’s gorgeous. I’ll be buying a physical copy of this before long just so I can look at the artwork whenever I want to. It’s perfect.

If you’re looking for a Snow White story with a happy ending, this isn’t for you. It’s very dark, there’s no happy ending, and the story involves vampires. For example:

“If it were today, I would have her heart cut out, true. But then I would have her head and arms and legs cut off. I would have them disembowel her. And then I would watch, in the town square, as the hangman heated the fire to white-heat with bellows, watch unblinking as he consigned each part of her to the fire. I would have archers around the square, who would shoot any bird or animal who came close to the flames, any raven or dog or hawk or rat. And I would not close my eyes until the princess was ash, and a gentle wind could scatter her like snow.

I did not do this thing, and we pay for our mistakes.”

It probably won’t happen, but I would love to see this story turned into a film or television show.

If you like Neil Gaiman or dark fairy tale reimaginings or just amazing art, definitely pick up this book.


What is your favorite Snow White retelling or reimagining? Let us know in the comments!




Don’t forget to follow me on social media:

Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | Amazon Wishlist

If you would like to support Read Yourself Happy, you can donate through Ko-Fi!

4 thoughts on “Snow, Glass, Apples by Neil Gaiman – A Review”

  1. I just finished the third retelling of Snow white for the year haha, so happy to see your review for his one as I had no idea it existed ❤ I must get my hands on it soooon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment